Tags

,

Father’s Day Dinner

Image

Lobster Rolls, Corn on the Cob, Cabbage Slaw and Sauteed Spinach.  Billecart Salmon Rose and Beaune Premier Cru – Les Aigrots 2010

Sam loves lobster and we love Sam so the girls and I set out on a mission to make the perfect Father’s Day Dinner while he enjoyed a Pedicure and Facial at Spruce.  It doesn’t sound very manly-but he can pull it off.  We even convinced him to paint his toes-Chrome.

I have never made fresh lobster before, meaning I have never killed lobsters before, so this was a real act of love.  I also think it was a good lesson for the wee ones to face the fact that meat comes from dead animals.  For what it’s worth, we purchased all the veggies post slaughter.

To make this feast first we had to hunt it down (Market Hall), then we had to kill it (see below), finally we ate it (see below below).  I used the following recipes from Epicurious.  

modified http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Lobster-Rolls-107074

not modified http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Cabbage-Slaw-108146

Image

Before

Image

After

ImageL

Oli’s belly full of lobster.

Kristen-the great news is now I am fully qualified for our upcoming trip to Maine.  Make me enough cocktails and I will take on the task of killing the lobsters.  FYI-I studied all the methods, which are really two.  Kill it before it goes into the pot or simply put them in live.  I read, may be true, may be not true, that throwing them in the pot alive makes them tighten their muscles, resulting is tougher meat, so I opted for the kill them first program.  This was accomplished by stabbing them between the eyes with a butcher’s knife.  Yeah, I know, I did this.  I stabbed them between the eyes with a butcher’s knife.  I don’t even feel bad about it.  Bizzare.

