Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

An Ode to Summer:

Grilled Skirt Steak “burgers” on GF Cheese Rolls with Heirloom Tomatoes, Little Gems, and Ajichurri

The other day when I was researching a recipe for llapingachos, I came across THIS blog (what a fun idea!) and specifically THIS recipe and I COULD NOT get it out of my head.

Ta-da!

Screen Shot 2013-06-19 at 9.53.39 AM

My modifications:

Instead of llapingachos again, I made my own gluten-free buns with is THIS recipe.  I’m just beginning to dip my toes into GF baking and have had some major failures, but this one came out so well, I allowed myself a little extra wine.

Instead of hamburger meat, we grilled up a Marin Sun Farms skirt steak and cut them into pieces that fit in the bun.  I love both grass fed organic meat AND skirt steak, but I’m going to go ahead and say that grass fed skirt steak is a little too tough for this application.  Niman Ranch skirt steak would have been better on the old chompers, but Marin Sun farms is better for the planet and our bodies, so there you go.  I’m thinking of grinding it next time to make my own hamburger meat.

I pickled red onions with red wine vinegar, salt, & oregano and instead of the “aji sauce” the burger lady used, I made up my own… a little something I’ll call ajichurri.

Ajichurri

makes 1 1/2 cups

  • 1 jalapeno, chopped, seeds removed
  • 1 cup flat-leaf parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/4 c lime juice (juice of one large lime)
  • 4 T olive oil
  • 1 T kosher salt
  • 1 T dried oregano

Place all ingredients in blender or food processor and blend until all the pieces are about the same size.  Serve with meats, brush onto grilled veggies (see below), use as salad dressing, or eat with a spoon (as I did – sorry for my breath today world).

I served it all on the GF bun with heirloom yellow tomatoes, kewpie mayonnaise (don’t judge – I know it has MSG in it, but OMG it is good), little gems, pickled onions, & ajichurri.

Sides were grilled zucchini brushed with ajichurri, olive oil, S&P and a simple salad of little gems with olive oil and lemon.

Summer on a plate.

