Tags

, , , ,

The Accidental Cave Girl Dinner

I have discovered that if you remove wine from most of my dinners two things will happen:

  1. I will die of longing.
  2. The dinner has a strong chance of adhering to the Paleo diet.

So I have decided to do two things:

  1. Keep drinking wine – the staff of life in my household
  2. Tag all my meals that are Paleo friendly for people who might be on this diet.

Just to clear things up I am not on the Paleo diet.  I am on the Heather wants to eat raw plant matter so is experimenting by removing all grains and legumes from her diet to see if this will do the trick. So far so good.   In keeping with the Heather diet on Thursday for dinner I made a simple mélange of summer squash sautéed in olive oil with shallots.  And, because they were soooo good the night before, I used up the remaining figs and prosciutto and presto, we had the same dish as the night before. For all you Paleo peeps this is a good one which I have to admit is adapted or perhaps simply pilfered from watching Kristen make a similar dish about a 10 years ago.

Prosciutto Wrapped Figs with Basalmic Glaze  

12 Ripe Figs (I used Black Mission)

12 Pieces of Prosciutto

Olive Oil

Balsamic Vinegar

Makes 24

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  I use mini-muffin pans to cook the figs in.  If you don’t have two mini-muffin pans, put them on your shopping list and use your regular muffin pans this time.  Rub a smidge of olive oil in the bottom of each muffin cup. Cut the figs in half top to bottom.  Use scissors to cut the prosciutto in half the long way, resulting in two long ribbons.  Wrap each fig half with one prosciutto ribbon and place in one muffin cup.  Continue with the remaining 23 halves.   Drizzle each fig with your best balsamic.   A little dab will do ya.  Roast for 20 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes.  They are molten right out of the oven. Image

