Tags

, , , , ,

Poached Chicken Salad

Image

Or, for our Puerto Rican guests, Ensalada con pollo.  We had special friend from Puerto Rico join us for dinner last night.  I thought it was going to be a scorcher so planned a cool entree.  I poached chicken in the morning and pulled it in the afternoon.  It was quick and easy to assemble dinner.  The pulled chicken was tossed with grated ginger, mint, scallions, mirin, lime juice, sesame oil, salt and pepper, and served it on a bed of lettuce similarly dressed.  On the side I lined up slices of tomato which were drizzled with a simple spicy aioli.  Bread was served for those who can eat it. For dessert I mixed sliced strawberries, blueberries and  mint with lime juice and a smidge of sugar.  I let this settle in while we ate.  Then made a whipped cream with cream, sour cream and vanilla.  The berries and cream vanished. Hopefully summer won’t leave us so quickly!

SUMMER BLISS!

Image

