Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Duende in Oakland

Last night we went with some friends to Duende in Oakland for a lovely adult night out.  Duende is Spanish/Basque and headed by Paul Canales.  It’s a great spot and we thoroughly enjoyed the food, wine, & company.

I think, too, that I FINALLY figured out what to say to servers to explain my dining restrictions to them:  “I cannot eat any gluten – it is not a diet thing, but a severe medical condition”.  This simple sentence avoids the words celiac, gluten-intolerant, and allergy and was very effective and to the point.  Try it sometime.

Sorry I forgot to photograph the rabbit/dungeness crab sausage I had.  It was served over sliced heirloom tomatoes, steamed romano beans, and a subtle mustard sauce.  My husband had goat meatballs that looked amazing, but were not GF.

Anyway, Duende has a great cocktail program.  I had a variation on a Pimm’s cup.  It was a little sweet for me, but delicious nonetheless:

Image

