Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The Old Gray Mare, she ain’t what she used to be

After nearly a decade our grill faced a slow death and finally kicked the bucket last week.  (Oddly, our refrigerator nearly suffered the same fate until a savvy and kind ‘fridge repair guy helped us out – LMK if you need a recommendation!) 

So, it was out with the old and in with the new.  A new grill means that we’ll be grilling dinner until my husband tires of playing with his new toy. 

Up to bat last night?  Heritage pork ribs and arugula and stonefruit salad with a shallot/balsamic dressing.  My hubby tried 2 ways of making the ribs: dry rub and st. louis style.  They both cooked away on the grill for several hours (which we could previously not do because our old grill had only one setting: HOT) no doubt making the neighbors drool.   A good friend of ours makes a mean dry rub mix and the Ancho blend was just the ticket for our ribs. 

I’m still trying to duplicate the salad Heather and I had on her birthday and while last night’s try was good, I think I can do better.  I served it with burrata (as it was at the restaurant), but it didn’t really add anything to the salad and I found the olives too tricky, so I plan to try switching them out for capers.  Here’s the riff I plan to try next time:

Kale Salad with Peaches, Capers + Proscuitto with Shallot Balsamic Dressing

  • 1 bag Trader Joe’s power greens (baby kale, spinach + chard)
  • 2 ripe, but not falling apart peaches, cut into 3/4″ cubes
  • 2 T capers
  • 6 small chives, minced
  • 1 package TJ’s proscuitto, baked and crisped in the oven and crumbled

Dressing: (last night I skipped the rice wine vinegar and added too much syrup for a heavy balsamic/honey mustard kind of dressing.  My family loved it, but I prefer brighter flavors. This is what I’ll do next time.)

  • 1 T balsamic vinegar
  • 1 T rice wine vinegar
  • 1/2 t maple syrup
  • 1/2 t dijon mustard
  • 4 T olive oil
  • 1 small shallot, very finely minced
  • salt & pepper to taste

Image

I really should have taken a photo of the boys after they ate their ribs.  Their faces were COVERED in barbeque sauce (we like Daddy Sam’s which is GF, but not Paleo).  It was comical.

