Tags

, , ,

birthday salad

 

Birthday Salad

I tried to recreate the salad Kristen and I shared for lunch at Reddwood in Yountville for my birthday for dinner.  Kristen’s idea of replacing olives with capers in an earlier post was a good one.  I recommend it.  Here is how I assembled this very pleasing salad:

Place a single layer of bresaola (it should be lonza but this is what i had on hand and it worked nicely) on a plate.  Top with dressed arugula (dressing was shallot/balsamic/olive oil/S&P).  Pretty the arugula with bite size pieces of nectarines, peaches, cherries and buratta.  Sprinkle with capers. Drizzle with more balsamic.  Crack a little pepper and viola – Birthday Salad is ready to go.

I served this salad with a simple roast chicken and it was devoured by my sister, Sam and me.  It meets the heatherly diet – which is paleo modified to include dairy and wine.  Skip the buratta and its totally paleo, but not nearly as luscious.

 

 

